# applause

## Oops! We neglected to mention...

In the Spring 2002 issue of *Inter*ACTRA, we missed two ACTRA members and their honours.

Life Member Gerald Pratley received a special Genie Award at the Academy of Canadian Cinema and Television's Genie Awards. Mr. Pratley has devoted his life to Canadian Cinema and Television as a film critic, broadcaster, and as the founder and director of the Ontario Film Institute.

ACTRA member **Albert Millaire** has been promoted to a Companion within the **Order of Canada.** An actor and director, he has worked in French and English in theatre, opera, film and television in Canada and around the world.

Belated congratulations to you both.



Bluma Appel with Seán Cullen, host of the WGC Top Ten Awards.



#### Eleven ACTRA Members win Comedy Awards

Congratulations to all ACTRA-member nominees and winners of **2002 Canadian Comedy Awards.** Pretty funny ACTRA members are: **Seán Cullen, Mark Farrell, Cathy Jones, Eugene Levy, Shaun Majumder, Bob Martin** (2 awards), **Rick Mercer** (2 awards), **Greg Thomey, Janet van de Graaff** (2 awards), **Mary Walsh** (2 awards) and **Kevin White.** ACTRA is a proud sponsor of the 2002 Canadian Comedy Awards.

www.canadiancomedyawards.com



*(Left to right):* Former ACTRA National President Jack Gray received the Writer's Block Award from the WGC.

Sugith Varughese took home a Top Ten Award for his work *Talespinners Collection I*.

Ten ACTRA members win

ACTRA congratulates our members who

won awards at the 23<sup>rd</sup> Annual Young Artist

California: Sarah Barrable-Tishaure, Daniel

Graham, Hayley Lochner, Miriam McDonald,

Clark, Lauren Collins, Ryan Cooley, Aubrey

Melissa McIntyre, Christina Schmidt and

Awards held in April in Studio City,

**Young Artist Awards** 

#### Eight ACTRA members among WGC Top Ten winners

In April the **Writers Guild of Canada** handed out its **2002 Top Ten Awards** celebrating the best in Canadian screenwriting. This year, ACTRA member **Seán Cullen** hosted the gala evening that's touted as the "fastest awards show ever." Congratulations to all ACTRA-member winners and finalists.

Eight ACTRA members are among the winners, and the WGC honoured ACTRA's former president **Jack Gray** with the **Writers Block Award** for service to Canadian screenwriters.

ACTRA member winners are: Sugith Varughese Talespinners Collection I; Cathy Jones, Colin Mochrie, Greg Thomey, Mary Walsh, Mark Farrell, Kevin White and Paul Mather This Hour has 22 Minutes, episode 5, season IX. www.writersguildofcanada.com



### Louise Pitre nominated for Tony Award

Canadian actor and ACTRA member Louise Pitre was a Tony Award nominee for her performance in the Broadway version of the musical Mamma Mia! Although Ms. Pitre didn't win a Tony this year, her Mamma Mia! performance has already garnered her numerous

awards including a **Dora Award**, the **National Broadway Touring Award**, and a special award from the **San Francisco Theatre Critics' Circle.** Ms. Pitre is also known for her portrayal of the legendary French singer **Edith Piaf** in three different productions of **Piaf**.



Hayley Lochner

**Cassie Steele.** The Young Artist Awards honour performers under age 18 for their accomplishments in film, television, music and all areas of entertainment. **www.youngartistawards.org** 

(Left to right): Bob Martin – winner of two Canadian Comedy Awards in 2002.

Janet Van De Graaff, also a double award winner at the Canadian Comedy Awards.

Shaun Majumder is pretty funny.