

ACTRA's John Drainie Award for Distinguished Contribution to Broadcasting

In 1966, John Drainie, one of Canada's most distinguished and well known actors, died at the age of 50. In 1968, ACTRA established the annual John Drainie Award to commemorate one of its best-loved members.

The Drainie Award recipient is chosen each year by the previous recipients. ACTRA's John Drainie Award will be presented as part of the Banff Rockie Awards at the Banff Television Festival in Banff, Alberta, in June 2003.

The John Drainie award is a bronze medal portrait of John Drainie by renowned Canadian sculptor and medallist Dora de Pedery-Hunt.

Past recipients of the John Drainie Award are:

1968	Esse Ljungh, W.O. Mitchell,	1985	Fred Diehl
-	Tommy Tweed, Jean Murray	1986	Bernard Cowan, Pat Patterson
1969	Andrew Allan	1987	Ross McLean (posthumously)
1970	Harry J. Boyle	1988	Davidson Dunton (posthumously)
1971	Lister Sinclair	1989	Peter Gzowski
1972	Graham Spry	1990	Allan S. McFee
1973	Rupert Caplan	1992	Gordon Pinsent
1974	Len Peterson	1993	Barbara Frum (posthumously)
1975	Robert Weaver	1994	Max Ferguson
1976	Jane Mallett	1995	Knowlton Nash
1977	John Reeves	1996	Dodi Robb
1978	Johnny Wayne & Frank Shuster	1997	Joe Schlesinger
1979	Ruth Springford	1998	Peter Herrndorf
1980	Norman Campbell	1998	Bernie Lucht
1981	Frances Hyland	1999	Pierre Berton
1982	Mavor Moore	2000	Shelagh Rogers
1983	Lucio Agostini	2002	David Suzuki
1984	Robert Christie		

ACTRA's John Drainie Award is no longer presented posthumously. Any ACTRA member may submit a suggestion to the Drainie jury for their consideration. Nominations must be received before March 7, 2003.

Nomination:			
Reason:			
Nominated by:	ACTRA me	ACTRA membership #:	
Phone (day):			
	Please mail or fax to: John Drainie Award Nominatio ACTRA National 625 Church Street, Suite 300 Toronto, ON M4Y 2G1 fax: (416) 489-8076 email: national@actra.ca		