

ACTRA's John Drainie Award for Distinguished Contribution to Broadcasting

ACTRA's John Drainie Award is presented annually to a person who has made a distinguished contribution to Canadian broadcasting. In 1966, John Drainie, one of Canada's most celebrated and well known actors, died at the age of 50. Two years later ACTRA established the annual award to commemorate one of its best-loved members.

The Drainie Award recipient is selected annually by a jury comprised of previous recipients who consider suggestions put forth by ACTRA members. The 2004 Award will be presented at the Banff Television Festival's Tribute! Night in June.

The recipient will be presented with a bronze medal portrait of John Drainie created by renowned Canadian sculptor and medallist Dora de Pedery-Hunt.

Past recipients of the John Drainie Award are:

1968	Esse Ljungh, W.O. Mitchell,	1986	Bernard Cowan, Pat Patterson
	Tommy Tweed, Jean Murray	1987	Ross McLean (posthumously)
1969	Andrew Allan	1988	Davidson Dunton (posthumously)
1970	Harry J. Boyle	1989	Peter Gzowski
1971	Lister Sinclair	1990	Allan S. McFee
1972	Graham Spry	1992	Gordon Pinsent
1973	Rupert Caplan	1993	Barbara Frum (posthumously)
1974	Len Peterson	1994	Max Ferguson
1975	Robert Weaver	1995	Knowlton Nash
1976	Jane Mallett	1996	Dodi Robb
1977	John Reeves	1997	Joe Schlesinger
1978	Johnny Wayne & Frank Shuster	1998	Peter Herrndorf
1979	Ruth Springford	1998	Bernie Lucht
1980	Norman Campbell	1999	Pierre Berton
1981	Frances Hyland	2000	Shelagh Rogers
1982	Mavor Moore	2002	David Suzuki
1983	Lucio Agostini	2003	Jim Murray
1984	Robert Christie		
1985	Fred Diehl		

ACTRA's John Drainie Award is no longer presented posthumously. Any ACTRA member may submit a suggestion to the Drainie jury for their consideration. Your suggestions must be received by March 5, 2004.

Broadcaster for Consideration:	
Reason:	
Suggested by:	ACTRA membership #:
Phone (day):	



