

Call for Submissions ACTRA's John Drainie Award for Distinguished Contribution to Broadcasting

## About John Drainie

Orson Welles once called John Drainie the greatest radio actor in the world, few would disagree. Undoubtedly, John Drainie was one of Canada's most well known and distinguished actors; in the late '40s, John Drainie was the voice of CBC Radio.

A self-taught actor, John Drainie started out as part of a group of Vancouver radio artists that included fellow-greats Fletcher Markle, Alan Young, Lister Sinclair, Len Peterson, Arthur Hill, Bernie Braden and Andrew Allan. They made Vancouver stand out in early radio drama, before moving on to Toronto during WWII to be central to the CBC's drama revolution during the Golden Age of Radio.

John's versatility was showcased in literally hundreds of productions – including playing Matthew in the original 1956 CBC-TV production of Anne of Green Gables, as well as hosting This Hour has Seven Days. However, he was perhaps best known for the five years he spent playing hired man Jake Trumper in CBC Radio's *Jake and the Kid* by W.O. Mitchell.

John died at the age of 50 in October 1966, leaving his wife Claire and six children. The eldest was Bronwyn Drainie, writer and broadcaster, who wrote his story *Living the Part: John Drainie and the Dilemma of Canadian Stardom*, published in 1988.

John Drainie's legacy lives on in the annual award established in his name two years after his death. The first recipients Esse Ljungh, W.O. Mitchell, Tommy Tweed and Jean Murray have since been joined by some of Canada's leading performers and broadcasters.

## **Past Recipients**

1968	Esse Ljungh, W.O. Mitchell,	1986	Bernard Cowan, Pat Patterson
	Tommy Tweed, Jean Murray	1987	Ross McLean (posthumously)
1969	Andrew Allan	1988	Davidson Dunton (posthumously)
1970	Harry J. Boyle	1989	Peter Gzowski
1971	Lister Sinclair	1990	Allan S. McFee
1972	Graham Spry	1992	Gordon Pinsent
1973	Rupert Caplan	1993	Barbara Frum (posthumously)
1974	Len Peterson	1994	Max Ferguson
1975	Robert Weaver	1995	Knowlton Nash
1976	Jane Mallett	1996	Dodi Robb
1977	John Reeves	1997	Joe Schlesinger
1978	Johnny Wayne & Frank Shuster	1998	Peter Herrndorf
1979	Ruth Springford	1998	Bernie Lucht
1980	Norman Campbell	1999	Pierre Berton
1981	Frances Hyland	2000	Shelagh Rogers
1982	Mavor Moore	2002	David Suzuki
1983	Lucio Agostini	2003	Jim Murray
1984	Robert Christie	2004	Daryl Duke
1985	Fred Diehl		

## 2005 Submission Form ACTRA's John Drainie Award for Distinguished Contribution to Broadcasting

ACTRA members are encouraged to submit nominations for ACTRA's John Drainie Award for Distinguished Contribution to Canadian broadcasting to the jury for their consideration by **March 31, 2005.** ACTRA's John Drainie Award will be presented at the Banff Television Festival in June 2005.

With your submission, please attach a brief biography of the candidate or a brief explanation (100 words or less) of why you feel your candidate should receive the award with your form.

Please note, ACTRA's John Drainie Award is no longer presented posthumously.

Broadcaster For Consideration: \_\_\_\_\_

Suggested by: \_\_\_\_\_

ACTRA membership #: \_\_\_\_\_

Phone :\_\_\_\_\_

Please send form to: ACTRA's John Drainie Award Nominations ACTRA National 625 Church Street, Suite 300 Toronto, ON M4Y 2G1 fax: (416) 644-1544 / email: jdeer@actra.ca ATTN: Joanne Deer