

Call for Submissions 2006 ACTRA John Drainie Award for Distinguished Contribution to Broadcasting

Know a Canadian broadcaster that deserves to be recognized? Send his or her name along for consideration for the 2006 ACTRA John Drainie Award! This presented annually to a person who has made a distinguished contribution to Canadian broadcasting in the tradition of John Drainie.

Drainie was only 50 when he died in 1966, but he had already had a legacy as one of Canada's most celebrated and well-known actors. Two years after his death ACTRA established the annual award to commemorate one of its best-loved members.

A jury of previous recipients and members of the ACTRA National Council will choose this year's honouree. The Award will be presented at the Banff World Television Festival in June.

Past recipients of the John Drainie Award are:

1968	Esse Ljungh, W.O. Mitchell,	1987	Ross McLean (posthumously)
	Tommy Tweed, Jean Murray	1988	Davidson Dunton (posthumously)
1969	Andrew Allan	1989	Peter Gzowski
1970	Harry J. Boyle	1990	Allan S. McFee
1971	Lister Sinclair	1992	Gordon Pinsent
1972	Graham Spry	1993	Barbara Frum (posthumously)
1973	Rupert Caplan	1994	Max Ferguson
1974	Len Peterson	1995	Knowlton Nash
1975	Robert Weaver	1996	Dodi Robb
1976	Jane Mallett	1997	Joe Schlesinger
1977	John Reeves	1998	Peter Herrndorf
1978	Johnny Wayne & Frank Shuster	1998	Bernie Lucht
1979	Ruth Springford	1999	Pierre Berton
1980	Norman Campbell	2000	Shelagh Rogers
1981	Frances Hyland	2002	David Suzuki
1982	Mavor Moore	2003	Jim Murray
1983	Lucio Agostini	2004	Daryl Duke
1984	Robert Christie	2005	Vicki Gabereau
1985	Fred Diehl		
1986	Bernard Cowan, Pat Patterson		

Please note, the ACTRA John Drainie Award is no longer presented posthumously. Any ACTRA member may submit a suggestion to the Drainie jury for their consideration. Please attach a brief bio of the candidate with your form. **Submissions must be received by March 27, 2006.**

Broadcaster For Conside	eration:
Reason:	
Suggested by:	
ACTRA membership #: _	Phone :
	Please mail or fax to: ACTRA John Drainie Award
	ACTRA National ATTN: Joanne Deer
	625 Church Street, Suite 300
ACTRA	Toronto, ON M4Y 2G1
ALIKA	fax: (416) 489-8076 / email: national@actra.ca