

## FEDERATION INTERNATIONALE DES ACTEURS

INTERNATIONAL FEDERATION OF ACTORS INTERNATIONALER SCHAUSPIELERVERBAND FEDERACION INTERNACIONAL DE ACTORES

Guild House, Upper St. Martin's Lane Tel: +44 20 7379 0900 E-mail: office@fia-actors.com London WC2H 9EG United Kingdom Fax: +44 20 7379 8260 Website: www.fia-actors.com

President TOMAS BOLME

DOMINICK LUQUER General Secretary

London, 22 January 2007

To ACTRA and its whole membership

## Re: 2007 ACTRA strike

The International Federation of Actors (FIA) representing performers' unions, guilds and professional associations in all continents, wishes to convey its most sincere solidarity to ACTRA and all its membership who are striking, as we write, against the film and television producers' associations.

Today, we are all Canadians. What you are fighting for is of prime concern to us all. Because this is not just about the acknowledgment of our professional role in the industry and the new media. It is also about our right to live decently of our work, to have a family, a house and a future.

Internet use is where the big dollar is and producers know it. Soon enough, this is where most of our revenue will originate. Denying performers the right to be fairly remunerated for film and television production exploited on the Web is a slap in the face. And it is unethical. It is about time that corporate responsibility makes its way in the entertainment business too.

We need to stand united and resist the wearing down of our rights. We have advised all our affiliates to say no to any relocating production and instruct their members not to accept struck work.

We wish you success and hope to see you back to work soon, with the enthusiasm you have always had.

Yours in solidarity,

Jan John.

Tomas Bolme President

Convince lugue

Dominick Luquer General Secretary

FIA represents performers' unions in Albania, Argentina Australia Austria Belarus Belgium Bhutan Brazil Bulgaria Burkina Faso Cameroon Canada Chile Colombia Congo (DR) Croatia Cuba Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Ecuador Estonia Finland France Georgia Germany Ghana Greece Hong Kong Hungary Iceland India Ireland Israel Italy Japan Kazakhstan Kenya Korea Kyrgyzstan Latvia Luxembourg Madagascar Mexico Moldova Morocco Namibia Nepal Netherlands New Zealand Nigeria Norway Panama Pakistan Paraguay Peru Poland Portugal Romania Russia Slovakia Slovenia South Africa Spain Sweden Switzerland Turkey Ukraine United Kingdom United States of America Uruguay Venezuela Zambia Zimbabwe