

March 14, 2007

To: ACTRA Performers Eligible to Vote on Ratification of the Independent Production Agreement (IPA) 2007-2009

Re: Ratification of the Terms of Settlement reached in the Independent Production Agreement Negotiations

On behalf of the ACTRA National Executive and ACTRA's IPA Negotiating Committee, I am pleased to report that ACTRA has successfully concluded a tentative settlement to renew the Independent Production Agreement (IPA), negotiated with the Canadian Film and Television Production Association (CFTPA) and the Association des producteurs de film et de télévision de Quebec (APFTQ).

ACTRA's National Executive and ACTRA's IPA Negotiating Committee are recommending that eligible members approve the IPA Terms of Settlement which you will find enclosed. These Terms of Settlement are being submitted to all ACTRA Full Members, Apprentice Members and ACTRA Extras who are eligible to vote on ratification of the IPA.

Please read the enclosed document and then exercise your right to vote on ratification of this Agreement by completing the ballot and mailing it in the envelope provided so that the completed ballots may be received by the office of the official scrutineer, no later than 5:00 pm EST on Friday, April 13, 2007.

This has been an extremely difficult negotiation during which ACTRA held its first strike in our 64-year history. The good news is: **we won!** We fought off a hyper-aggressive attempt to strip our Agreement, including proposals to roll back pay on most productions by 25%, to strip our work rules and to force us to accept grossly concessionary terms on New Media.

Instead, we obtained an **excellent 10% wage and retirement package** over three years, acceptable **New Media** rates, better **work rules** (including better equal opportunity and antiharassment rules, tougher safety language and stronger Minors' protections) and **clearer language to ensure our strike ability in the future**. We agreed to steps to promote independent Canadian production, we harmonized Background vouchers nationally and we are set to organize the lifestyle/reality genre.

The members of your bargaining committee are extremely grateful for the strong support the overwhelming majority of members extended to your union - *our* union. As Gordon Pinsent put it so well, "ACTRA is the house we have built for ourselves." Some 97% of ACTRA members voted to make that point to producers with the strike vote that gave your bargaining committee the power it needed to prevail in this dispute.

Alliance of Canadian Cinema, Television and Radio Artists

ACTRA National Office 625 Church Street · Suite 300 · Toronto ON M4Y 2G1 Toll free 1-800-387-3516 · Tel (416) 489-1311 Fax (416) 489-8076 · E-mail national@actra.ca · www.actra.ca The final step in resolving this dispute is the ratification of this collective agreement. A "yes" vote is a vote for a strong new agreement, for industry stability, for a new start at rebuilding our industry and creating more work opportunities for all members.

There is no point prolonging this dispute. These are the best terms we are going to get. And there are significant wins across the board.

ACTRA's members were fortunate to have been represented in these negotiations by an exceptionally skilled and capable group of performers on the IPA Negotiating Committee. These members worked long, difficult hours and remained united in their commitment to stand strong against the producers' demands for massive concessions. We extend our deepest gratitude to the following members of the Negotiating Committee (and their alternates): Richard Hardacre (Chair, National President), Thor Bishopric (Co-Chair, Montreal), Heather Allin (Toronto), Wendy Anderson (Saskatchewan), Tyrone Benskin (Montreal), Barry Blake (Ottawa), Aidan Devine (Toronto), Cary Lawrence (Montreal), Ron Lea (Toronto), Karl Pruner (Toronto), Alberta Watson (Toronto), Ron White (Toronto) and Maurice Dean Wint (Toronto). And we thank, as well, the many other ACTRA members who participated as observers and advisors to the Negotiating Committee.

Finally, on behalf of the Negotiating Committee, we urge you to vote "yes" to ratify this agreement.

In Solidarity,

Stephen Waddell National Executive Director Chief Negotiator ACTRA