

## The John Drainie Award for Distinguished Contribution to Broadcasting

In 1966, John Drainie, one of Canada's most distinguished and well known actors, died at the age of 50. In 1968, ACTRA established the annual John Drainie Award to commemorate one of its best-loved members.

The Drainie Award recipient is chosen each year by the previous recipients. In June 2002, for the first time, the John Drainie Award will be presented as part of the Banff Rockie Awards at the Banff Television Festival in Banff, Alberta.

The John Drainie award is a bronze medal portrait of John Drainie by renowned Canadian sculptor and medallist Dora de Pedery-Hunt.

Past recipients of the John Drainie Award are:

1968	Esse Ljungh, W.O. Mitchell,	1984	Robert Christie
	Tommy Tweed, Jean Murray	1985	Fred Diehl
1969	Andrew Allan	1986	Bernard Cowan, Pat Patterson
1970	Harry J. Boyle	1987	Ross McLean (posthumously)
1971	Lister Sinclair	1988	Davidson Dunton (posthumously)
1972	Graham Spry	1989	Peter Gzowski
1973	Rupert Caplan	1990	Allan S. McFee
1974	Len Peterson	1992	Gordon Pinsent
1975	Robert Weaver	1993	Barbara Frum (posthumously)
1976	Jane Mallett	1994	Max Ferguson
1977	John Reeves	1995	Knowlton Nash
1978	Johnny Wayne & Frank Shuster	1996	Dodi Robb
1979	Ruth Springford	1997	Joe Schlesinger
1980	Norman Campbell	1998	Peter Herrndorf
1981	Frances Hyland	1998	Bernie Lucht
1982	Mavor Moore	1999	Pierre Berton
1983	Lucio Agostini	2000	Shelagh Rogers

Any ACTRA member may submit a suggestion to the Drainie jury for their consideration. Nominations must be received before March 8, 2002.

Nomination: _	
Reason: _	
Nominated by: _	ACTRA membership #:
Phone (day): _	
	Please mail or fax to: John Drainie Award Nominations ACTRA National 625 Church Street, Suite 300 Toronto, ON M4Y 2G1 fax: (416) 489-8076 email: national@actra.ca